On 2006-07-31, Ron Edwards wrote:
I think I explained it to your group correctly, as opposed to Eero’s. But to be clear ...
Say a layout includes this sequence:
The narrations therefore would be the King player narrating as if he had two stacked Kings, and the Queen player narrating as if he had two stacked Queens. So that’s an easy example.
However, say the layout looked like this:
King covered by King
Queen covered by Jack
In this case, the King player effectively has *three* stacked Kings (not four).
The Queen player has a two-card narration, but the Jack player only has a one-card Help or Hinder.
Does that make sense?
As for Supporting Cast, they can leave play through Flashpoints which kill or permanently imprison them (or something equally unpleasant). In your group, that would have been the way for your spies to increase your Card Number total.
In fact, I’m now wondering if I had failed to make that clear to your group, which may be why you were stuck at three cards. By the rules, if you had removed a Supporting Cast or two through Flashpoint (and as I recall, you did get the cards to do that), then the next Flashpoint would have included more cards.