anyway.

2006-05-09 : My OTHER body of work

Not everybody knows this, but there's lots of singing at our house. I heard Peter Schickele say one time, "the family that sings together, sings together," and I figure he's a) tautological and b) right.

Not everybody also knows this, but I'm a pretty accomplished amateur maker up of kids' songs. If you, um, account "accomplished" in terms of "I have made a few and I sing them over and over and over and over, to fix them permanently in the heads of my children and other family members, even until some of said family members look at me with narrow eyes." And if you discount "making up the music thereof" from "making up."

All of which to say: look! a monkey!

4 kids' songs by me

1. On 2006-05-09, Larry Lade said:

Sadly, I only know the tunes of Ode to Joy and Good King W.

2. On 2006-05-09, Meguey said:

My personal favorite is "Variations on How much is that doggy in the window?", especially the verse below:

"I don't want a hop-toad or a turkey,
I don't want some hornets that buzz,
I don't want a shoe-box full of maggots,
because, well frankly, who does."

direct link
marginalia

This makes...
ecb go "that one's a classic"

3. On 2006-05-10, Kirk said:

Now if only the Wiggles would hire you as their new lyricist...

4. On 2006-05-10, TonyLB said:

Those are awesome.  I'm not stealing them, but they will inspire me to keep on making up children's songs myself, even when my son informs me solemnly "Daddy, those aren't the right words."

5. On 2006-05-10, Gordon said:

I knew this, but these songs are a great reminder:  the fact that Vincent is a dad goes in the "Good Things about the World" column.

Alas, that the number of kids that can have a bunch of fun is restricted to two or three goes in the "Not-so-Good" column.  Still, the Artist must speak Truth :-)

6. On 2006-05-10, Vincent said: