anyway.

2009-05-08 : Super Briefly for Seth and Rob

This is a couple of years old, and pardon my crudity.

In Massachusetts, if you don't have health insurance, you have to pay a fine at tax time, something like $500. YOU have to pay it.

They said, "this is an important first step toward universal health care in the state!" They said, "it will force us to find affordable health insurance for everyone!"

The state pandered our hardworking asses to the insurance industry and called it romance.

1. On 2009-05-08, Brennen said:

Man. I'm a professional musician and don't have bennies. That would eat me alive. I live in Alabama, where something like that could happen. I hope the idiots in charge down here don't get wind of this.

2. On 2009-05-08, Robert Bohl said:

Except that if you're sufficiently poor, you get free health care. I should know.

I don't know what it's like for edge-case people, and I would much prefer a single-payer system throughout the state rather than enriching insurance companies, but this is a far better situation for me than I've ever seen otherwise.

3. On 2009-05-08, Matt Wilson said:

I like how it's a fine, not mandatory enrollment or something. So you're out $500 and still don't have insurance.

4. On 2009-05-08, John Mc said:

Wow.

Just Wow.

5. On 2009-05-08, Vincent said:

If you're sufficiently poor in Mass, you do get free health care, it's true. Rob, for purposes of that fine, MassHealth counts as insurance?

6. On 2009-05-08, Seth Ben-Ezra said:

Thanks, Vincent!

For the record, we totally agree on this. I'd argue similarly against the policy.

7. On 2009-05-08, Weeks said:

What gets done with the $500?

8. On 2009-05-08, Seth Ben-Ezra said:

I *think* the $500 is supposed to go fund the state medical insurance. I could be wrong on that.

9. On 2009-05-08, Avram said:

There's also a religious exemption. I guess that's for Christian Scientists.

10. On 2009-05-08, Seth Ben-Ezra said: