anyway.

2017-07-25 : #rpgtheoryJuly: Violence In My Games

Transplanted from #rpgtheoryJuly:

1. At heart, I'm a horror game designer. Violence against fictional characters is a crucial part of almost all of my games.

2. I think that this is fine. "Violence" against game pieces or characters isn't real and shouldn't be taken for it.

3. ...To the point where I don't see how we get from combat systems in games to any consideration of real violence at all.

4. I mean, identifying with our characters (or game pieces) provides a small link, but only a small one...

5. ...As violence against your character MIGHT constitute social violence against the real you, but doesn't automatically.

6. It totally depends on the game. In @PaulCzege's term, on the game's social architecture.

7. Play violence, in other words, doesn't and shouldn't require you to hurt anybody. The opposite!

8. So in my games, I always try to design ways for us, the real people, to have fun with play fighting.

9. Like, collaborating enthusiastically with one another to commit pretend violence on our characters/game pieces.

10. In all of my games, you can let your character suffer violence, without making the real you a chump or a victim.

11. ...In various ways, for various purposes, with various outcomes, game by game.

12. This always includes ways for you as a player to choose how much you're risking or willing to have your character suffer.

13. ...But it doesn't always include an out or a veto. In some games, it's "you risked this, and it came true, so it stands."

14. Because in some games, gambling big and losing is part of the fun!

15. So the design task is, divorce play violence from real-world social violence, aggression, hostility, between the players.

16. Keep the players enthusiastically in the game, collaborating, while their characters try to hurt and kill each other.

17. This isn't like a big challenge, it's just a task, but you can get it wrong. Have a plan! Design on purpose!